Remove the option for users to disable remote configuration

Thomas M. shared this idea 2 months ago
Under Consideration

The option for users to be able to disable remote configuration should be reconsidered. It doesn't really make much sense (or atleast I'd like to hear the idea behind it). Why should users be allowed to exempt themselves from policy pushed by the admin? It's also extremely annoying that users must venture into the settings and toggle the switch or otherwise be spammed to death with notifications stating that remote configuration is disabled, not to mention that me, the admin, are not able to force policies like removing unshared files/folders. Sad to say that I had to make my own (!!) installer which creates the registry entry that enables remote configuration from the get-go but I cannot do this for MacOS users.

Comments (2)

photo
1

Thanks for the feedback.

The main reason that remote configuration should be allowed for now is that it allows admins to potentially setup local backups and retrieve any files from machine.

So to avoid misuse this configuration requires user consent.

photo
1

That makes sense.

I suggest an alteration in the installer then: Make a checkbox (this is what I personally did in my "custom installer") of some sort, that are checked on by default, which basically says "allow remote configuration". Maybe some text to indicate that they consent to admins being able to retrive local data.

And then hide the popup that repeats itself again and again about remote configuration not being able to be retrieved.

photo